Skip Navigation Links
Light Is OnExpand Light Is On
Parish NewsExpand Parish News
NW CatholicExpand NW Catholic
Contact Us
DonateExpand Donate
DirectoryExpand Directory
SearchExpand Search
Skip Navigation Links
The ArchdioceseExpand The Archdiocese
Archives & RecordsExpand Archives & Records
Catholic Cemeteries
Catholic SchoolsExpand Catholic Schools
CYO Athletics
EcumenismExpand Ecumenism
Ethnic & Pastoral CareExpand Ethnic & Pastoral Care
Faith FormationExpand Faith Formation
Human ResourcesExpand Human Resources
Library/Media CenterExpand Library/Media Center
LiturgyExpand Liturgy
MissionsExpand Missions
Retreat CenterExpand Retreat Center
Safe EnvironmentExpand Safe Environment
Stewardship/GivingExpand Stewardship/Giving
The TribunalExpand The Tribunal
Vicar for ClergyExpand Vicar for Clergy
Youth & Young AdultExpand Youth & Young Adult
Home | The Tribunal | Types of Marriage Cases Email, Print, Bookmark and Share

Types of Marriage Cases

On September 8, 2015, Pope Francis issued new law governing Marriage Cases Processes. This law is presented in two documents, Mitis Iudex Dominus Iesus (for the Latin Church) and Mitis et misericors Iesus (for the Eastern Rite Churches), which are available on the Vatican website. This new law goes into effect December 8, 2015.

The current law governing marriage nullity cases remains in effect through December 7, 2015.

If you believe that you have grounds for invalidity or dissolution of your marriage under the laws of the Roman Catholic Church, your first point of contact should be your local parish or a parish which you find convenient. We encourage you to make an appointment with a parish minister (an Advocate) trained and delegated to assist with the preparation of marriage cases. You will be asked to tell your story to the Advocate, focusing on your religious and family background, the events and circumstances that led to your decision to marry, the wedding, and your married life. The Advocate will listen, help clarify the key issues, determine what type of case you have, and assist with procedural and jurisdiction questions. If it appears that the basis for a case exists, you will receive forms appropriate to the type of case you have. You are the Petitioner in the marriage case(s); your former spouse(s) is/are the Respondent(s).

The following is a brief description of the six types of cases most often handled by the Seattle Metropolitan Tribunal. If you have more than one previous marriage, each must be addressed individually. The circumstances of each marriage will determine the type of case that applies to each individual marriage.

Six Types of Marriage Cases
Coming Soon

Links  |   Feedback/Errors  |   Privacy Policy  |   Editor Login